Choose your reaction

Recently, I pulled up to a set of traffic lights and in the lane beside me, and just ahead of me, stretched an old burgundy Cadillac. The woman driver held an unlit cigarette in her hand.

Seconds later, she put her car in park, exited her vehicle, and ran to her trunk to retrieve her purse and I would assume; her lighter.

The light remained red.

She jumped back into her driver’s seat, and lit her cigarette while she fumbled for her seat belt.

The light remained red, and yet the car behind her honked.

Kind of rude, I thought.

Cadillac lady reacted by flipping the driver of the trailing car the bird.

Interesting, I thought.

The light remained red.

The Honking man, put his car in park, and exited his vehicle.

I couldn’t see his expression.

I put my car in park, just in case I needed to help.

The man approached her car and gently closed the trunk that had failed to latch.

Cadillac lady skidded away in an aggressive manner.

Honking man smiled as he got back into his car.

We choose our reactions. Choose them mindfully.


Matito / Foter / Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.0 Generic (CC BY-SA 2.0)
Leave a Reply

