Faking it

Before self-healing can begin; I would suggest that you take an honest look at yourself, your environment, and your behaviours.  Ask yourself; where it is that you are not being authentic?  When are you faking it?

You’ve probably faked an orgasm.  You’ve probably faked that you liked a gift.  You’ve probably faked that you are feeling differently than what you actually are. I call that faking it conscientiously.  You choose to fake it, for the good of another.  Your lover didn’t need to know that you were tired, and just wanted to go to sleep.  Your grandmother didn’t need to know that you wouldn’t ever wear the bright green sweater that she knitted especially for you. The bank teller didn’t need to know that you weren’t feeling fine; you were miserably constipated.  So you conscientiously faked it.  You told them what they wanted to hear.  You had good intentions.  No harm, no foul.

Conscious faking it; is when we misrepresent our self, in spite of our self.  We choose to pretend to be something other than what we are.  For instance, I stopped to help a man who was sitting in the middle of a long flight of stairs.  He was sweating, and he was short of breath.  It was obvious that his morbid obesity was hindering his ascent.  I offered my services as a nurse but he assured me he would be fine.  He explained that he needed a minute to rest his “weak ankles.”  He knew that I knew that his ankles were not the problem; and I knew that he knew too.  He was consciously faking it.

Unconscious faking it is more abstract. This is when we believe something so much that we create it in our reality.  Unconsciously, I was living in fear of being murdered, but I believed that I had a heart condition. I unconsciously faked it until I became exactly what I believed myself to be.

You are exactly who you believe yourself to be.


Too Busy to Study / Foter / Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.0 Generic (CC BY-NC-SA 2.0)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

